Dear Emma Review ♥

image1 (4)

Dear Emma is a novel by Katie Heaney and I gave it 1/5 stars. Here’s why

I received this from Netgalley for free, and it had a lovely cover so I thought that I would enjoy this. I could not even finish this novel and I always finish books, no matter how much I am not liking them. The story revolves around a college girl named Harriet who works at the library and has a spot on an advice column. I thought the intro was very slow and remarkably dull, except for the very sophisticated language throughout. The main character is extremely annoying and only cares/talks about Keith, a guy who she met and spent time with for a little while and all of a sudden he stopped communication. By chapter four I was hoping the story would develop instead of  Harriet moping around over a guy she barely knows, but no. It continues to talk about the little moments she had with him and how she basically stalks the heck out of him because he simply doesn’t seem interested in her. Honestly, if I were him I would run too.

So since there really is no plot, no real character development besides the stalker Harriet, I could not get into this book. I could not finish it and this is a first for me. The pretty cover was what hooked me but the story and characters immediately turned me off.

*I was give a copy of this book on Netgalley, but as always my opinions are mine 100%.*

Leave a Reply

