State of Grace Review

IMG_6639

All I can say is, it’s hard reshaping everything you believe. Even when you think you’ve done it, your old ideas have this habit of popping up to make you doubt yourself.


State of Grace by Hilary Badger is a utopian novel about a girl who lives in a wonderful area with lagoons, huts and all things dotly. Dot is their creator and all one hundred creations live within this utopia world. Wren, our main character worships Dot night and day in this novel but gets doubts planted in her head by Blake as well as having visions of another life. Does she believe in Dot? Did Dot really create her and only this little village area, or is there more to life, perhaps something even more chilling that is unknown.

I give this novel a 3.5/5. The beginning part only included the words Dot and hooking up. In this novel all the characters hook up because it is dotly and it is so totally amazing. I do not know how to express how much I hated this book and then loved it right at the end. I’m not sure when I started to really admire the story line of this book but thank goodness it happened.

The main character is what would be a closed minded religious person. She only wants Dot and acts way too bubbly for my liking. She wants to hook up constantly but then her personality changes from ‘like it’s totally obvious’, to Wren actually sees the light and is not blinded by her beliefs. Wren starts having visions of another life in which she is there as Viva and continues having these memories all the way till the end of the novel. Her character grew and strengthened into a mature girl. My favorite character was this little boy named Dennis. He was found by Wren in the village but I won’t say more because I don’t want to spoil it.

Sometimes it was hard for me to figure out which person was speaking because the ebook wasn’t really formatted well and it was tiny to read. Other times I blanked out because the descriptions of the environment was off. I’m a big stickler for details and this book was alright in that aspect but the buildup was definitely the high scoring point of the setup.

If you can get over how many times Dot is referenced along with dotly, it’s so obvious, totally, and hooking up I think it becomes very interesting when Dennis shows up and would recommend it only if you can oversee very annoying details that I mentioned above.

*I received this novel from Netgalley*

Leave a Reply

